Tequila is a blue agave-based spirit made primarily in the area surrounding the city of Tequila, Mexico, from a plant similar to cactus. It takes at least 8 years to harvest.

There are 2 basic categories of Tequila and they are Mixtos & 100% Agave.

Mixtos comprises no less than 51% agave with other sugar making up the remaining ingredients.

100% Agave tequila, blanco or plata is harsher with the bold flavours of the distilled agave coming up front, while the reposado and añejo are smoother, subtler, but a more complex variation.

100% Agave is normally bottled in 5 categories:

  • Blanco (“white”) or plata (“silver”): it is a white spirit, either un-aged and bottled or stored immediately after distillation, or aged less than two months in stainless steel or neutral oak barrels.
  • Joven (“young”) or oro (“gold”): is blanco or silver tequila with caramel or food colouring added. If caramel flavouring is used (versus food colouring) to create the ‘Gold’ colour in the Tequila, the Gold tequila is less harsh when drunk as a ‘shot’; as the small amount of caramel flavouring slightly tones down the harshness of the liquid in the mouth and throat; when compared to the silver or blanco tequila. Examples of this variant are the Jose Cuervo Gold or Sauza Gold.
  • Reposado (“rested”): it is aged for a minimum of two months to less than a year in oak barrels of any size.
  • Añejo (“aged” or “vintage”): it is aged for a minimum of one year to less than three years in small oak barrels.
  • Extra Añejo (“extra aged” or “ultra aged”): this variant is aged for a minimum of three years in oak barrels.

Know more about tequila:

Don Julio

Jose Cuervo




Two Fingers